Massachusetts  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/06/07, 11:22 pm

Legal Question


collection,credit problems

6-7years ago I had trouble paying for a car I was being treated for cancer. Late on car payments, lost my apartment, lived in my car 6 mths. Last Nov. 2006 I contacted the collection agency they told me I owed 1367.30 the pay off around 835.00.. I sent them a letter that I could send 50. a month and requested they do not file judgement against me. I've paid 50 a mth. On Mar 19, 2007 the car was totaled. On Mar 21,2007 I called the collection agency and she told me I owed 1207. and the pay off was 905.45 as of sat. Mar 24,2007 she kept asking about the judgements papers that I returned to her but never signed in those papers it mentioned court costs and interest I also have a letter that I'm judgement proof in Mass. I said I would not use that if I could make payments. By accepting those payments I believed they accepted my terms and all monies should be applied to the balance owed. My inc co contacted Ford Motor Credit and they told him my balance was 1167. and that's the pay off figure. It seems that now I'm getting 1995 for the car they want the full amt. As I paid each mth the settlement figure went up. Is this correct (legal)? I'm on disability and every pennie counts. I'm still under Dr's care for cancer.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search