Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Massachusetts

I live in Massachusetts. A credit card company is garnishing my wages. They are garnishing all but $125 a week from my paycheck. I thought there were federal and state laws from letting them take so much. What is the maximum they can take?

Asked on 3/19/11, 5:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Steven Striffler Steven R. Striffler Attorney At Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

25% under federal law. A bankruptcy filing would immediately stop the garnishment. Feel free to contact me.

Read more
Answered on 3/20/11, 11:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Massachusetts

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now