Massachusetts | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
My question pertains to liability of children for debt their father has incurred. He & I were divorced 15 years ago, I relinquished custody of the children since I was pursuing an undergraduate education. I paid child support & that obligation has been fulfilled albeit I continue to pay for college expenses. My question is not for myself but for my children, ages 26, 23 & 21. Their father incurred huge quantites of debt. has recently lost his job & allegedly chose as the executor of his mother's estate to utilize her monies for his benefit without the consent of his siblings of which there are three. My eldest son is in his third year of law school in another state & finds himself in a very difficult position. To what extent will my children be responsible for his debt. Their father has recently been admitted to a mental health hospital for suicidal ideations but will be released this week. As his ex-wife of 15 years is there anything I should be concerned about personally other than the well being of my children?


