Massachusetts | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Municipal criminal law
My friend has criminal charges for municipal law violations, real estate related. She has been to court numerous times all resulting in continuances. Yesterday she was due in court again, the DA admits they are not familiar with municipal law, and they have been using the city solicitor to prosecute, however yesterday he never showed up for court. The judge said one if he's not there and ready next time she'll throw the case out. My question is, if my friend didn't show up they would surely issue a warrant, how many times can the prosecuting attorney ''no-show''? Keep in mind this isn't the first ''no-show'' from the city. Is there a motion she can file to dismiss the case due to an obvious disregard of her right to a speedy trial? They have brought her back 3 times already for the arraignment while trying to figure out who should prosecute the case, due to the da's lack of knowledge on municipal laws. I would guess there's gotta be a time table otherwise they can keep this thing going forever.


