Legal Question in Criminal Law in Massachusetts

My son received a notice to appear before a magistrate on a complaint issued by campus police regarding an incident where he was restrained and taken into PC for public intoxication

During the incident he took a swing at one of the officers

He did not make contact but the complaint is for disorderly conduct ,resisting arrest and assault and battery on public employe.

It says its a misdemeanor and he was never arrested

This is first (hopefully last) time he has ever been in trouble and was due to having to much alcohol

Do I need to hire an attorney to attend this appearance before magistrate?

Wondering what is likely to come of the appearance and if it is to determine whether there is probable cause to then have him arrested ?

Asked on 9/22/13, 7:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig J. Tiedemann Kajko, Weisman, Colasanti & Stein, LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The chances of success at the clerk's hearing are much better with counsel present. Feel free to contact me to discuss further.

Read more
9/23/13, 6:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Massachusetts

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now