Re: OUI and possesion of Class D substance
The prosecutor might not be allowed to offer any deal less than the penalty if your son is tried and convicted. If that's the case, the lawyer is right, you have nothing to lose and a lot to gain by trying the case. I used to prosecute OUI cases (14), and, depending on the location, the "success" rate (% of OUI guilty verdict) was under 50%.
Often times the jurors themselves have, at one time or another, driven after a few too many, and can easily envision themselves in the unlucky shoes of your son; and for those reasons, OUI juries can be synmpathetic and will acquit. For But its certainly no sure thing.
Having tried OUI's I know the best and most effective defenses. If its in the county I worked in, sometimes knowing people can help.
The class D can probably be resolved, if its a small amount. Probably CWOF, perhaps drug testing for 6 months or classes.
Feel free to give a call to discuss if you'd like.