Massachusetts | Elder Law
Legal Question
I own a fully insured vehicle which is parked in a legal spot in front of my dwelling Having been ill as of late,I'm 70 years of age, I haven't driven or moved my car...A nosy neighbor pointed out to me that it is 'against the law' to keep my car in my spot unmoved. Are you able to shed light on this subject for me? Should I back up my vehicle several feet and pull back into my spot? Seems ridulous to me,Please advise
PS. I live in the suburbs
Legal Answer
If your car is insured and registered and it is not in a no parking zone, your neighbor is wrong. I suggest you call the parking department in Winthrop and check with them as to whether there are any problems with you parking in front of your house. The number there is (617) 539-5819 ext 133. Good luck
Cohen & Oalican 18 Tremont St., Ste 903 Boston, MA 02108
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Also, be aware that most cities and towns have local ordinances which regulate how long a vehicle can be parked in the same spot on the street before it is deemed "abandoned" and subject to being ticketed and towed.
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh 25 Fletcher Street Chelmsford, MA 01824-2746
► Other answers from this attorney

