Massachusetts | Entertainment Law
Story/publishers
I am a writer. Well over a year ago, I submitted a story to a children's author/illustrator/publisher. In emails, he said he likes the story a great deal and asked if he could illustrate and publish it. I agreed. But since that time, he has not done so. I never hear from him and when I take the initiative to ask what is happening, he either ignores me completely or puts me off by not answering my questions but by writing other things that have nothing to do with the book. It started to seem as if he might intend to calim the story as his own, or steal the idea. The only reason this makes no sense to me is that he is a very well-known and reputable illustrator. At one point, he asked me to record the story on audio which I did, and sent it to him. I do not know what to do. I am getting nowhere with this. IS this man able to claim my story as his own? I do own the copyright? I hate like heck to make this a legal matter but I do not like the way he is behaving. This just keeps going on and on.
Sincere thanks
3 Answers
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|


