Massachusetts  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 11:49 pm

Legal Question


Couple are divorced both names on mortgage and woman lives in house and man does not for 6 years now. Divorce Cree clearly states woman claims it on taxes. Woman is unemployed and does not do taxes. Man sees opportunity to get a greater refund. Man does not pay mortgage, principles and interest and claims it on his state and federal taxes for false deductions for 4-5 years. It is evident his refund is mailed to a different address where he resides then the house he claimed. His attorney tells him it is alright and he does not think he can get into trouble. Man gets caught by IRS, can attorney get into any trouble for giving wrong advice and going along with it? Is tax fraud a felony? What if it is a State employee who is doing this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search