Massachusetts  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/02/09, 4:13 am

What's a fair alimony payment?

We were married for 6 years and are now getting divorced. We have 2 children and she has been a stay at home mom for the whole time. She does have a B.S. in business administration, but has never used her degree.

We have settled on everything except alimony. I make ~$7700/mo (gross). Child support is set based on the guidelines, which comes to about 25-31% of my gross each month.

Should I be providing much more in terms of alimony? Would a judge order me to pay any more aside from potentially providing her with health care? What would be a 'fair' amount considering I will have to maintain a residence of my own to support 2 children as I will get them during summers and alternating holidays?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search