Massachusetts  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/25/09, 1:47 pm

Legal Question


My husband and I ar in agreement with all areas of our divorce other than his parents being written into the agreement with visitation rights. My husband left me and my 3 year old stranded at my inlaws to live while he moved out of town on his own. I have always had the best interest of my daughter in mind and even though we are finally able to move out and I could move closer to my family a few hours away, I chose to stay close to my inlaws in order to keep my daughter's daily routine the same. My soon to be ex-inlaws watch her while I work part-time 3 days a week and will continue to do that and they will also have her for 1 overnight a week. We had discussed this and agreed upon it months ago among ourselves and I have no intention of taking her away from them or denying them access to her. I am more part of the family than my husband who only sees her (and his parents), by choice, once for a few hours every 2-3 weeks. He hasn't been a part of her life regualarly for a long time and admits to being selfish about it yet he is adament about putting in writing visitation privledges for his parents, not my parents, but his parents. If we are filing a joint custody no fault divorce is it even customary to have grandparent visitation in the agreement? I've been told that it is not normal unless there is a sole custody issue or some kind of restraint order against the father. This is the only thing stopping us from just having my lawyer write it up and get it over with cheap vs. having to pay more than double to go to a mediator over this one thing. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search