I have the same issue as "controlling, over reaching step-mother." The description of the step mother is the same in my situation. My ex as physical custody and we share legal. We used to have live close by and have a give and take relationship. I had more flexable visitation during the week days. My ex got re married and moved with my children 60 miles away (in the same state). Since the move and the new marriage they have total disregard for my rights with the advantage of being so far away in their favor. They refuse to include me in an major decisions, medical, educational or otherwise. I have to research my childrens lives online because they refuse to share information such as report cards, activities etc. I have asked for their home phone number so I can call my children and they say they don't have one (which they do and I have it). I have to call their cell phone and they have my children return my call depending on their availablility. I could go on and on but is there some legal action I can take to restore the balance and to make them respect my rights? They act like I don't exist or try to.