Massachusetts | Medical Leave
Legal Question
I was fired from my job today after I was hopsitalized with severe MRSA. I was on a heavy IV medication for 5 days and I properly notified my employer that I was very ill and was told not to worry I would still have my job. However, the doctors orders (in the form of a doctors note) advised me to not return to work till a follow-up a week later from my primary care 9/1, tomorrow. However, when I called for my schedule today 8/31 I was told I had been fired for being seen out in public looking fine, and they believed I should of been working!? Can they legally do that even after proof showing I was not allowed to return to work by doctors orders, because MRSA is so contagious and I am in the food service?


