Massachusetts  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
4/05/08, 8:42 am

Legal Question


emotional distress

My wife and me just presented our

case in Superior Court. Acting pro se,

I brought in the original letters from

three Doctors where these doctors

state my wife had very serious

emotional distress. The court would

not accept as evidence because I

made a mistake not bringing in the

doctors to testify. In my closing

statements, is there any closing

arguments supported by law or

standard legal practice that I can

argue that the Jury can award

damages for emotional harm, based

on their belief that emotional harm

would and could be reasonably

caused by the proven acts of the

defendants. I recall reading some law

that said the injured party (my wife

and co-plaintiff) should not lose her

claim for emotional harm (if

supported by Doctors' letters, if I, as

her pro counsel made a procedural

mistake. Can you guide me through

what I would need to say in my

closing remarks to the Jury, along

with what I would say to the Judge

to allow my request.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search