Massachusetts  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
1/17/08, 11:39 pm

Legal Question


Information obtained by misrepresentation

Here is my question. I am doing some research for a civil case. I am not a lawyer, nor am I a party in this case other than moral support to the plaintiff. It involves a real estate investment deal. I called the listing Realtor to obtain information on the property. I did not tell him that I was investigating for a lawsuit, nor did I tell him I was interested in buying the house. Simply that I was watching it online and would like more information. He inadvertently told me exactly what I needed to know about the defendant's attempts (or lack of) to sell the property. Can this information be included in discovery as compelling grounds to settle pre-litigation? Or is this going to come back and bite plaintiff in the.... Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search