Massachusetts | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Small Claims over Frosting?!
I was at a party last year where several people became engaged in a good natured cake fight.
One of the people involved got frosting on his leather jacket. He got the jacket dry cleaned and is now taking my friend to small claims court for the cost of the dry cleaning.
He was a willing participant and did nothing proactive to protect his jacket and at no point was any discussion had about paying for the dry cleaning before costs were accrued.
It was a small amount that he could have cleaned with a damp sponge.
What laws can my friend research in order to provide a defense to the magistrate?
Thank you.


