Legal Question in Health Care Law in Massachusetts

In a really complicated and stressful situation. To make a long story short, I have a mother who is Power of Attorney and Health Care Proxy of father in nursing home where rest of family suspects abuse. We want to move him but she objects. The proxy has been invoked after his stroke. He still appears competent to us, has not been deemed incompetent, we do not believe his wife has the best intentions for him. She is in another state, unable and unwilling to work. She is mentally ill with a caregiver, is not allowed to touch her own money, yet she receives disability and still has power over my dad's health and money in another state, is this even legal?

Asked on 6/19/13, 12:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Raymond Weicker Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should petition to have a guardian appointed for your father. A court order can and will supersede any power of attorney.

Read more
Answered on 6/19/13, 8:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Health Care Law questions and answers in Massachusetts

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Health Care Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now