Massachusetts  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
7/01/09, 6:23 pm

Legal Question


How to Fix Possible Plagiarism

I am a college student. I wrote a newspaper article, and after I submitted my story to my editors, I noticed that my article had a few phrases and structural features that were, in my opinion, too similar to those of an article I read in my research. I immediately contacted my editor, a fellow college student, to review both stories. He said that there was nothing to be worried over. I was still concerned for my integrity and reputation that they were too similar and asked to change my article. He said that I could change the online version of the story. I did so, but I'm still concerned that I have not done enough to remedy the situation. The print version was distributed without my changes, and my editor sees no reason to worry about that. But I want to protect my reputation as well as my journalistic integrity. How do I fix this mistake? Have I done enough? Please help. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search