Massachusetts  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/01/09, 8:40 am

Legal Question


can you patent an idea on where you sell ad space similar to ads on placemats?


question bubble
11/06/09, 1:45 pm

Legal Answer


An invention must be new, useful, and non-obvious to be considered for patentability. The "non-obvious" requirement is one of the biggest hurdles because if it would have been "obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art" to combine the teachings of multiple patents/references, the invention is not patentable.

You should see a Patent Attorney in your area who can evaluate your case and assess whether he believes your case is worth pursuing. Good luck!

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire
sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com
New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search