Massachusetts | Employment Law
10/12/09, 11:48 am
Legal Question
Can my right to an attorney in civil negotiation be denied by the opposing parties attorney?
Can my right to an attorney in civil negotiation be denied by the opposing parties attorney?
|
Read More Answered By: henry lebensbaum |
You right to an attorney remains alive matter for you at nearly all times. The opposing party rarely has a right to deny your rights. |
|
Read More Answered By: Craig J. Tiedemann |
Opposing counsel can move to disqualify your counsel from representing you if his representation (of you) creates an actual or potential conflict of interest (usually to a former client of your lawyer or one of the lawyers in his firm). A lawyer cannot accept representation against the interests of a client or former client (or those of his partners), unless the client/former client gives written consent.
Other reasons to disqualify counsel is if the lawyer will be or is expected to be a witness to the events at issue in the case; generally he can't both advocate for a party and also be a fact witness to the underlying dispute.
Opposing counsel can request disqualification, but the court decides whether to allow it (if there is a conflict). The analysis should consider the prejudice to you if disqualification is allowed. Even if your lawyer is disqualified, however, you clearly have the right to retain substitute counsel, although this will likely be more expensive and less efficient.
Your existing lawyer will probably oppose any effort to disqualify him, although he has no choice but to withdraw if ordered by the court. Contact me directly if you need additional help through this. What kind of case? |
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 596
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-01
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Brookline, MA
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 92
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
► I was hired by a small firm to perform accounting and bookkeeping services as an...
► Is it legal to ask employees about their religion?
► Is there a law against someone bringing their spouse to work everyday (she is not...
► Can employers impose a surcharge for health insurance? For example, a woman's...
► I worked for a developer for 20 weeks (full time) as Construction Sperintendent. I...
► I was awarded back pay with interest from the arbitrator. The school department that...
► I am from Massachusetts and have to attend a mandatory meeting on my day off. Though...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Massachusetts| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press