Massachusetts | Employment Law
Legal Question
Is it a form of discrimination if my fellow coworker gets a cost of living raise in a review but I don't but I was just out for 4 months on Maternity leave?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sue-Ellen Kresh |
The shortest answer, without having all the facts, is that employers can not penalize employees for taking permissible leave. If you are being denied a raise because of your maternity leave (and that is a big if) and if you can prove that (another big if) then a case could be made for gender/pregnancy discrimination. Of course there may be numerous other factors to be considered and if you wish to pursue this matter further, you may wish to gather all the facts and contact me or another attorney to provide information based on all of the relevant facts.
Good Luck!
Sincerely,
Sue-Ellen Kresh |
Top Attorneys in MA
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Barbara C. Johnson
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 596
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-01
TIEDEMANN LAW FIRM (TLF)
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
J. Whitfield Larrabee
Brookline, MA
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Alan S. Fanger, Esq.
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Law Office of Maurice LaRiviere, Jr.
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 92
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Search Questions and Answers


