Massachusetts  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/06/08, 6:27 pm

Reference tells salary

My boss left my current company 2 weeks ago. I went for an interview and put him as reference for me. The company i was applying for asked him how much i made. Ex boss said in the 50's. The position i am aplying for is 55-70k i have good experience and good fit for job. I told new employer i make 63k. HR said ok and i'm sure you'll want a bit more than that...i said that would be nice. I got an offer of 62k 1k less than what i said i was making. Is this illegal to ask a reference how much i make and reference telling them?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search