Massachusetts  |  Employment Law

question bubble
3/18/09, 3:22 pm

Legal Question


Are Retroactive Pay Plans legal?

I took a position in MA (May 2008) with a signed employment agreement between my employer and I. In March 2009, it has been announced that we will be restructuring commission plans.

I was given a new employment agreement last week with a pay increase in salary, but adjusted format for commissions. I have not signed or approved this agreement since my employer is not available to discuss.

I just received payment for salary without increase and a commission payment which was retroactively applied and cuts out ''overpayment'' for January commissions based on this new plan.

Is taking money from my pocket in this way legal? I have not signed a new agreement. Also, if retroactively applying commissions, should I also not see the retroactive increase in my salary?

Please help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search