Massachusetts | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
sex offenders
Can i sue my landlord to pay my relocation fees because he rented to a level 3 sex offender in the state of MA?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Lee |
Re: sex offenders Why should you believe that your landlord has a duty to refuse to rent to a registered sex offender? Your warning has been supplied by the state via statute and registration. Moving based on this warning is your choice, it seems to me. I have NOT, however, researched this answer in depth.
The sex offender has had his rights seriously limited as a result of his or her particular conviction, but has not lost all of them, nor has your landlord lost HIS rights (and obligations) as a property owner. If you have a separate apartment with its own facilities and adequate security, it does not appear that you can blame your landlord for accepting the tenant.
I would be happy to be corrected by an attorney who has researched this issue in depth. |
Top Attorneys in MA
Donovan Hatem LLP
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 2956
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Joseph M. Murray, Esq.
East Bridgewater, MA
Questions Answered: 1716
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Gregory P. Lee, Attorney at Law
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1293
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-07
Law Office of Alan J. Pransky
Dedham, MA
Questions Answered: 858
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Robert R. Trant
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 181
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-03
Reeves Lavallee, P.C.
Worcester, MA
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Search Questions and Answers


