Massachusetts | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
lung cancer not diagnosed by primary care physician
i went to my primary care doctor on 4-7-08 complaining of coughing up a blood clot the size of a quarter and having a bad cold...primary said consider not smoking and you have a cold prescribed Bactrum a sulfur based antibiotic as i am allergic to other antibiotics....toward the fall of 08 noticed that i was weak...that i was short of breath, tho thought it was because of exertion working outside on farm...then in Dec 08 felt pain in chest often when laying down in bed...thought anxiety?? heartburn, stress ...? then in Jan 09and beginning of Feb 09 the shortness of breath was apparent and obvious when even doing minor things, with very weak in legs feeling, lots of sharp pain in chest during some days...called primary...found out no longer working there...referred to other doctor who immediately had an xray done..and did question first doctors neglect in doing that...xray showed large mass on left lung...on 3-16-09 had major surgery to remove large part of lung to remove 4.4 cm tumor that was cancerous, will begin chemotherapy shortly!yesterday oncologist told me that this form of cancer was totally treatable if it had been properly detected early!
my question is...do i have a case against the doctor who said you have a cold????


