Massachusetts  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
9/08/07, 4:33 pm

Legal Question


mother's misdiagnoses

About a 18 months ago, my Mother started losing weight and complaining of alot of stomach pain. She had a gastro workup and other blood work etc. She was told she had possible colitis. She continued losing weight and had more difficulty eating and also had deep purple marks on her legs. She was told she was getting older and her skin was thin. She progressively got worse and had alot more of the same tests. 3 months ago she was hospitalized with a blocked bowel and told she had Crohn's. They said there was a spot on her adrenal gland but not to worry about that. After that hospital release, she ate less and less. She was hospitalized again and released (50 lbs lighter). A biopsy was finally done and B cell lymphoma was diagnosed. She died one week from diagnoses. The oncologist in the hospital said he had a film that clearly showed lymphoma 3 months earlier but it was never mentioned. My mother looked for help for over a year and was never diagnosed. We now know that those spots on her legs were also a symptom of this disease. We do not want another family to be ignored like we were. Do you think we have a case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search