Massachusetts | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Being sued for a three year old car accident
Back in March 2005 I was involved in a car accident that I was responsible for. The driver (an elderly woman) was fine, just a little shaken up, but the passenger (her son) went to the hospital.
I'm was and still am fully insured for up to 100,000 dollar bodily harm, and I filed all the claim reports for this issue. three years later, I get a letter saying the passenger is suing me for 22,000 dollars for medical bills. The thing is I only hit them going about 5 miles an hour when my car rear ended theirs. I've sent in answers to questions that his lawyer has sent my insurance agency's attorney, and now they've sent a notice for a deposition for next month.
My problem now is that this whole issue is starting to interfere with my personal life. I'm a full time student and the deposition is set for a time during my classes/labs, which I can't afford to miss. I don't understand why my insurance company is not handling this whole problem, especially since I was fully covered. I've also moved so I live far away from where the deposition is supposed to take place and it's a real hassle for me. Is there anyway I can just have my insurance company take care of this, since they aren't suing me for my own money? Thanks
~Jason


