Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I own a house with a co-owner. He has been living in the house for some time, recently moved out and is refusing to pay anything more, and does not appear to care about foreclosure. I am wondering if he is planning to go into bankruptcy and if so how this will affect me. If he does, and the house is foreclosed upon, can the bank go after me for the deficiency because he is protected by bankruptcy? Can I petition the court to make him pay half of the mortgage going forward?


