Massachusetts  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
12/09/08, 2:48 pm

Legal Question


Fraud

I was getting money from

Transitional assistance and Food

Stamps. I got married July 26. I

called to tell them, no answer before

honeymoon. 10 days after wedding

spoke to case worker told me benefits

would be stopped and I would get a

letter in the mail saying when. 4

months later I still didn't recieve

anything which I thought was odd.

So I went to the office yesterday she

denied saying what she said over the

phone and said she would have told

me to bring my marriage certificate.

SHE NEVER TOLD ME THIS. she said

I shouldn't have gotten the money I

did and she has now reported me to

the fraud dept. I never meant to do

anything wrong. I don't know what I

can do. I am so stressed out (I suffer

from anxiety) am I going to be sued

or put in jail? I honestly didn't mean

to take money I didn't think was

mine. I thought the paper work and

whatever else she had to do was

being done. Once I realized it has

been 4 months I went down to the

office to make sure it was okay since

I tried calling the office repeatedly

that day and couldn't get through.

WHat happens now?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search