Massachusetts | Social Security Law
Legal Question
mass unemployment
can I be receiving unemployment benifits and also receive social security?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Lee |
Re: mass unemployment I have not reviewed specific statute and regulation in this answer, so you are getting a "general" answer. You may want to obtain further advice.
That being said, this depends on what the basis of your Social Security is. If it is disability, your receipt of benefits for unemployment implies that you are "ready, able, and willing" to accept employment. You certify this under the pains and penalties of perjury. This amounts to certifying that you are NOT "unable to perform substantial gainful activity."
The above answer assumes full-time work resulting in full-time benefits. If you are seeking part-toime benefits for part-time employment, the receipt may not be inconsistent. However, again, I have not reviewed the regulations.
Of course, you can seek any benefits you believe that you are entitled to, and then consider the decisions you get from the agencies involved. You COULD end up having BOTH agencies decide you are due no benefits based on the applications to the other.
You should get advice from a lawyer concentrating in benefits law, and based on a more detailed discussion of your situation. |
Top Attorneys in MA
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Gregory P. Lee, Attorney at Law
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1293
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-07
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Reeves Lavallee, P.C.
Worcester, MA
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc.
East Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 116
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-06
Law Offices of Christopher F. Earley
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Daniel Gindes
Salem, MA
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-20
Turgeon & Associates
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Law Office of Joseph Lamy
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-21
Search Questions and Answers


