Massachusetts  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
2/13/08, 12:18 am

Legal Question


Social Security and LTD Disability

I became disabled in 2004 and was receiving ltd disability benefits which I had paid for through my company..however, when I received my social security disability benefit I was unware that I had to pay the offset back to my ltd disability and because i did not they cancelled my ltd benefits in 2005 causing me to lose $1,000 a month..Isn't social security disability benefits offset by my ltd benefits and if this is so, shouldn't I receive additional monies through SS disability since I no longer have the ltd benefit? Isn't the social security amount received offset by the amount I would have received from my ltd disability? So confusing.. Also, I have a retirement pension which I can start to take next February 2009 when I reach the age of 55..will my social security disability be reduced because of taking my early retirement pension from my job?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search