Massachusetts  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
1/05/10, 5:35 pm

Legal Question


My children ( age 24,26 7 30 ) receive income for educational purposes from several trusts set up by their grandfather. Any other income is " at the trustees discretion " There are two trust attorneys, both around 70 and both have been with the firm for about 30 years. The senior trust attorney acts as if he alone has the right to make any and all decisions. Some of his decisions do not seem to be in the best possible interest of the trust. For example, the trustees purchased a home for a place for myself and my daughter to live. Now that she is out of the house, it is for sale. It need some improvements so that it will be competitive with others on the market and return the maximum possible to the trust. The lawyer refuses to do any work on the house, and, according to the firms accountant, will probably sell it at a loss, " just to clear the books " What rights, if any, do my children have, and what possibilities are available to have this attorneys decisions and management of trust funds evaluated by an outside, impartial agency ? Thank You. Susan


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search