Massachusetts  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/13/09, 4:21 pm

Legal Question


I am executrix of my sister's will. When she died, there was an unpaid mortgage in her name. Her daughter is on the Deed. Is it legal to leave the mortgage under the name of the estate or do I need to inform the bank that her daughter is now the owner of the home. Her daughter cannot afford to refinance the home.


question bubble
11/18/09, 5:07 pm

Legal Answer


You need to look at what the mortgage documents say. However, as a practical matter, if the daughter keeps paying the mortgage, the bank probably is not going to complain.

Harry Margolis

Margolis & Bloom, LLP 535 Boylston Street Boston, MA 02116

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search