Massachusetts  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
1/05/10, 1:55 pm

Legal Question


My grandfather passed away 10 years ago and left me money in his will. I never received this money and was told by the 2 Executors it was because "his Will was not valid due to a mistake by his attorney" However, 2 months ago while cleaning out my family's attic I found the Final settlement of my grandfather's estate and the two other named heirs had received their money (documented with date, check numbers, etc) and although I was clearly named in his will I was left out of the final settlement and never received the money he clearly left me. The rest of the money in his estate went into a trust has been earning interest for the past 10 years and is about to be dispersed to those SAME Executors as they are also the main beneficiaries.

The same 2 Executors were just appointed to oversee my grandmother's will so I am objecting to their appointment and try to get an independent executor appointed but am not sure if there is any way I could still receive the money that was clearly left for me in my grandfather's will. Or is there a way to legally hold the disbursement of his trust since I never received the money that was supposed to be left to me from it. The Executors have the same attorney who oversaw my grandfather's estate settlement is also now overseeing my grandmother's estate.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search