Massachusetts  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
1/12/10, 6:47 am

Legal Question


I live in Maasachusetts and I am a 68 year old woman whose husband's health is deteriorating to the point that nursing home care is not far off. I still work but my husband is retired and receives a pension from his previous employer. We have about 6000 dollars in the bank, and 94,000 dollars in stocks. We rent an apartment and only I own a car, a used vehicle worth maybe 3000 dollars. So in total our assets amount to a little over 100K. Here is my dilemma, if my husband goes into a nursing home I do not want to lose all my savings and stocks..is there any way I can protect my assets now before he enters a home? I have heard about medicaid being an option. I just think it is ridiculous for a spouse to become destitute due to the exorbitant costs of long term care-it simply isn't fair. There must be a legal way to save everything I have worked so hard for all my life and not have to hand it over to an over-priced nursing home. Can you help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search