Massachusetts  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
8/04/07, 5:02 pm

Legal Question


Employment Law

Robert Shaky is president of Shaky Corp. Shaky is in the business of providing large groups of people with limousine service to airports. Shaky’s business volume has been down since the events of September 11th. Shaky is not a big business. It consists of some buses, 6 drivers, and a support staff. Most employees have been with the company since its birth 10 years ago. Mr. Shaky is very loyal to his staff and treats them well. It is no secret to the staff that the company is not doing very well. Mr. Shaky had introduced a profit-sharing plan that was robust in the late 90’s. It has not returned any money to the employees for two years now. Mr. Shaky has repeatedly told his employees that if the company were ever to shut down, he would give everyone two months notice.

Last week Mr. Shaky met with his accountants who told him the company had run out of money and that the bank would not extend its line of credit. The company has no money to pay further salaries. Mr. Shaky has been told that if he does not pay his employees he could face serious penalties. On the other hand he is concerned that he may not be able to give his employees the two months notice he has always promised.

Mr. Shaky comes to you for advic


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search