Michigan | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Hi, I have invented an improvement to an existing patent. I have constructed a working prototype at home out of household items. I am now interested in filing for a provisional patent to claim my idea(s) and get protection, so that I may contact the owner of the existing patent and pitch my improvement, without worrying about him stealing my idea.
I have done some research and believe that the Provisional Patent application filing fee is $110 for a small entity, which I fit under the criteria.
Are there any other fees that I will have to pay to be awarded the provisional patent, such as patent search fees or anything else?
I understand that a Provisional Patent is only valid for 12 months, and within that time I will need to file for a Non-Provisional Patent if I wish to keep the patent, but for now I am only concerned with what it will cost me to get protection with a provsional patent, and allow me to begin pitching the idea.
The invention is very simple and straightforward, and I feel confident I can prepare the application myself w/o the extra costs for an Attorney to prepare the application.
I have experience in CAD and mechincal engeering, and have already prepared my own detailed drawings of the invention.
So basically my question is, will $110 be the only cost I will need to pay to the USTPO to be granted a Provisional Patent, gain protection on my idea/invention, and be able to claim "patent pending" status, so that I can start pitching the invention?
Thank you
Jesse


