Re: stroke
The Americans with Disabilities Act generally requires reasonable accommodation to be made by
the employer for an employee with a disability. This does not mean making the company do
something illogical or prohibitively expensive. Example: if you work for a tree cutting service and you become injured and are wheelchair bound (assuming the company is large enough to fall under the Act’s coverage) they should try and find a place for you such as driving a truck, or as office staff. However if it is a small outfit and everybody has to climb trees, then you may be out of a job. Example: you are an airline pilot who becomes blind, obviously you can not fly, but are there related jobs that you fill such as training officer, or management positions? The key is can you be a productive asset to the company if they are flexible and without unreasonably expensive requirements. Example: ramps, Braille capable equipment, reassignment to others of some tasks requiring physical effort, however if the employer would have to spend a great deal of money or make drastic changes or have to hire more employees, they are generally off the hook. One way of looking at this is the Act makes employers do the right thing, but not stupid things.
Note many states have their own additional protection for workers, as do many Collective
Bargaining Units (Unions). You need to check with an attorney in your own area who is familiar with this area of law. You can also contact the EEOC in your area for further assistance.
If we can be of assistance, please contact us at Forrester & Associates, 256-435-1007.