Michigan  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
4/18/03, 12:43 pm

Legal Question


impersonating an attorney?

Is it illegal to impersonate an attorney, in sending a document and saying that you are an attorney. This can scare people including me.


question bubble
4/18/03, 12:47 pm

Legal Answer


Re: impersonating an attorney?

Under Michigan law it is very illegal to impersonate an attorney. In many cases you can be fined and/or other sanctions can be imposed. Contact the Attorney General's Office in Lansing and present them with the details. They will take action in many cases, depending on the facts of the case.

Pat Tracy

Patrick Tracy

Patrick J. Tracy, Esq, P.E., P.O. Box 93 Garrett Park, MD 20896

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search