Legal Question in Business Law in Michigan

I own my own cake business, but it is not registered as a real business, I just do it out of my home. I made a cake for a lady whose son was turning one. She had sent me a 50% deposit ($45) beforehand and when I dropped the cake off she said that it was cute and she gave me a check for the other $45. Two minutes after I left, she calle me twice and left me voicemails both times expressing how unhappy she was with the cake. I admit..it wasnt my best work and it wasn't exactly how she wanted it but I told her everything that would look different before I did the cake. Long story short, she said she hid the cake and never used it but I could have it back because she wants her money back. I feel like I made the cake and delivered it so I did my part and told her that I do not do refunds but I would be happy to make her something else to make it up to her. She then told me that she would tell her lawyer if I didn't refund her. Would she be able to sue me over a $90 cake?

Asked on 8/19/13, 5:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Could she, yes. Would she, I highly douby it. A phone call to the lawyer could cost more. Or she could file in small claims court.

Read more
8/19/13, 5:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now