Michigan | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Does fence ordinance violate fourth amendment;backyard privacy?
I have nosy neighbors. I installed a 6'privacy fence,with a permit. By legal survey, the fence is 3'' or more to my side of the property line. I installed lattice, on removable/not in cement, 2x4s. The lattice is an independent structure from the fence. The lattice is from 6'to 8'high to keep the neighbors from seeing into my garage and backyard from their side windows. They watch me hang my laundry,carry in groceries,etc. The lattice supports are 1'' inside my fence 4x4 support posts. I have been given a civil citation to remove the lattice for height violation. QUESTION: Does the City have the right to make me remove the lattice,which allows the neighbors to watch into my backyard?I wanted to plant vines on them. Am I protected by the Fourth Amendment and a ''Curtliage clause''? PLEASE HELP! By the way, this is the first and only fence citation for height violation the City guy has ever written. He has admitted this on record in Court when I had my trial and lost.I have until March before removal of lattice or sentencing. If I pay the fine can I still keep the lattice up? Kind of a one time fee for a varriance?


