Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Michigan

In 1998 I got a car from a car lot but needed a co-signer. I knew I was going to be late paying on my car loan payment and made arrangements with the bank to pay late. The co-signer took the car from my yard when I wasn't home and hid it from me. Later, the car was repossessed from the co-signer for not making the payments. I just recently received a call to collect this debt and the new collection agency told me that I am liable even after this happened 14 years ago. In Michigan, who is responsible for this debt?

Asked on 11/05/12, 3:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It sounds like a scam. The statute of limitations is 6 years. If you get sued, contact me at kliszlaw.com to discuss. Tim Klisz

Read more
11/05/12, 3:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now