Michigan | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Creditors have issued an order to seize my property. Do I have to be home for them to take my things, or can they come to my home when I am not there and start taking my things?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Audra Arndt |
If they have a seizure order/writ, then no, they do not need your permission to take your property nor need you present. A sheriff's deputy will perform the removal and taking of any property to ensure compliance with laws. Have you considered bankruptcy? If not, you need to immediately discuss your options with a lawyer, as a bankruptcy would stop any and all collection, garnishment and seizure proceedings. You can always work out an agreement with the creditor to start making payments in lieu of having them seize random property, as that is a situation that nobody wants to go through if there is another route. If you want to retain me to provide you with legal advice, please let me know. Thanks. |
Top Attorneys in MI
Klisz Law Office, PLLC
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2489
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Legal Data Services, PLC
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Audra A. Arndt & Associates, PLLC
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Law Offices of Rochelle E. Guznack, PLLC
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 696
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-18
Stuart M. Collis, P.C.
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Wright Cantrell PLLC
Detroit, MI
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Sweeney Law Offices, P.L.L.C.
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 125
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-18
The Law Offices of Cullen P. Geisler PLLC
Novi, MI
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-08
Aldrich Legal Services
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 64
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-02
Search Questions and Answers


