Michigan  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/12/09, 3:30 pm

Legal Question


If you are an individual in the state of Michigan who dies without creating a will but has several debts, who is then responsible for paying these debts? The next of kin? If said individual is single, is the next of kin the parents? Can the parents be forced by the debt recipients to pay their child's bills if they refuse (initially)? Would they pay the burial costs? Would the bills/statements then be switched over to the parental names for settling of accounts?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search