Michigan | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Is it legal for a company to threaten to sue even thought I am paying on a fee that is outstanding. I have told them more than 8 times that I will pay but I can't pay it all at once.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Audra Arndt |
Sure if the entire balance is owed. Yes, you have a payment plan, but like everyone else, creditors are experiencing financial problems and will use whatever tactics are legal to get more money quicker. They are likely pressuring you into raising your monthly payments or offering a lump sum. If you don't want them to bother you anymore via telephone, send them a letter stating that pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, they must immediately stop all telephone contact and only communicate via letters. You do not have to be inundated with phone calls and harassment, especially when you have already worked out a payment plan. You may also wish to consider bankruptcy if this is not your only debt, or your income/funds are extremely limited. Should you wish to retain me for legal advice and/or a bankruptcy consultation, please contact me.
Thank you. |
Top Attorneys in MI
Klisz Law Office, PLLC
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2489
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Legal Data Services, PLC
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Audra A. Arndt & Associates, PLLC
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Law Offices of Rochelle E. Guznack, PLLC
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 696
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-18
Stuart M. Collis, P.C.
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Wright Cantrell PLLC
Detroit, MI
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Sweeney Law Offices, P.L.L.C.
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 125
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-18
The Law Offices of Cullen P. Geisler PLLC
Novi, MI
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-08
Aldrich Legal Services
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 64
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-02
Search Questions and Answers


