Michigan | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Hi, I'm 26 and was recently caught stealing nail polishes (silly, I know) from Meijer at a total of $71.86, the LP officer had me sign a voluntary statement and gave me a civil demand letter ($200) and called the police. I was arrested, finger printed etc, but was allowed out on $300 bail. I also have a court date on Nov 23rd in Wayne county. I have already paid the civil demand. I had gotten a ticket about 5 years ago for selling cigs to a minor (completely unintentional) when I was helping my dad out at our gas station. I went to court, and had to pay a fine. I don't know if this is on my record or not. If it is, what is the most likely effect it will have on the outcome of the retail fraud charge? Like being offed a deferred a sentence, etc? I'm a recent grand and am looking for jobs. I really don't want to affect that. I have a lawyer, but he says he won't know until the day of the court date whether or not this is on my record, and that he'll take it from there. Also there any way I can find out what is on my record, by just calling the court?
I would appreciate any answers. Thanks!


