Michigan | Criminal Law
7/09/08, 1:43 pm
Legal Question
i HAVE A ARRAIGNMENT
I have court time set up for nsf checks if i pay this off before court will they drop charges?
i HAVE A ARRAIGNMENT
I have court time set up for nsf checks if i pay this off before court will they drop charges?
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy Klisz |
Re: i HAVE A ARRAIGNMENT No, they will most likely not. You should hire competent local counsel to represent you in obtaining the best deal for yourself. Do not go it alone. Contact me at www.kliszlaw.com to discuss further. Tim Klisz |
|
Read More Answered By: Neil O'Brien |
Re: i HAVE A ARRAIGNMENT There is no guarantee that the case will be dismissed, but there is no down-side to paying it immediately. That good faith act might cause the prosecutor to dismiss or reduce the case ... and/or cause the judge at sentencing to give you a big break.
If you get convicted (and I'll leave it to you to weigh how likely it is that you will be convicted because only you know if you committed the crime), you'll have to pay full restitution anyway, so why not do it NOW? A restittuion order never exipres until it is paid in full, and cannot be discharged in bankruptcy, either. So, you can run, but you cannot hide.
Paying it now cannot be used against you in any way because, under the Rules of Evidence, an offer of settlement or payment of settlement cannot be used as evidence of an admission of culpability. |
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2489
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Lansing, MI
Questions Answered: 2339
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Troy, MI
Questions Answered: 1728
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Charlotte, MI
Questions Answered: 954
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Howell, MI
Questions Answered: 414
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-16
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 308
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► I feel my son was wrong charged What can I do to make sure he was charge right on...
► Non-narcoatic charge my son was turning in pill he found on bus, cop at school...
► Warrants/Public record I was told that someone I know has warrants out on them. I am...
► 2 counts felony assault and 2 counts domestic abuse My boyfriend is in hail for 2...
► MI Penal Code s 224 Currently MCL 750.224(2) makes it a felony to possess a bomb or...
► Domestic abuse and 2nd offense DUI My boyfriend was arrested tonight while driving...
► Retail Fraud 3rd Then Plead to Disorderly Conduct Okay...So i was charged with...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press