Michigan  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 10:16 am

Legal Question


I have only been arrested once, but it was for murder about four years ago. I was acquitted of all charges. I ordered a background check online and it showed no record. But other sites say that arrests will always be on there, and getting it expunged doesn't even help. So my question is, if I ever have a background check run on me for employment, will my arrest record show on there? Also, would I be able to still become a police officer with this arrest (not conviction) on my record? I know people say they won't hold this against you, but be serious! They sure will. Hope to hear back from you. Thank you!


question bubble
11/22/09, 11:59 am

Legal Answer


Only police officers, the military, and parts of the federal government are supposedly allowed to access your arrest record.

William Morrison

Action Defense Center 4000 Livernois, Suite 140 Troy, MI 48098-4712

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search