Legal Question in Criminal Law in Michigan

Can a cop search a minors bag with no parent present and not given consent?

I was at a fire at my friends and I felt dizzy and passed out my friends had called an ambulance being scared, I had thought it was due to dehydration. by the time we met the ambulance I was completely fine and coherent I couldn't leave because I was a minor and no adult was present. The ambulance parked at the gas station and the cops had found my bag by a dumpster placed there by a friend.They had identified it as my bag before opening it. The police had asked if they could search it me being perfectly coherent I said " I don't see the relevance to searching my bag I don't consent" they searched it anyway no search warrant presented either. They searched it outside the ambulance as well, without me being present to witness the search. Found a few bags of marijuana, is this evidence going to hold up in court?

Asked on 9/28/12, 5:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It depends on their story. Judges often believe the police over kids.

Read more
Answered on 9/28/12, 6:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now