Legal Question in Criminal Law in Michigan

A family member of mine was sued about 20 years ago for going to a bully's house to confront the

Mother. There was an argument and that was it but my family member was sued for verbal assult.

When she found that out she had her parents help her out with a lawyer because she couldn't afford one on her own. The lawyer told her to plead no contest. The lawyer scared her by telling her that she couldn't afford to fight the case and if she lost she may face jail time. She had a young daughter at the time (who ws being bullied) so she couldn't risk jail time. She had to pay a fine only. Now she is trying to get a teaching license and is having a very hard time. She has been told that the board will discuss her situation and give her a decision in 2 weeks. She has the money now to fight it but I believe the statute of limitations has expired. just recently she found out that not only did her daughter get bullied (by her 16 year old babysitter) but her daughter was molested as well. What can she do now? If it gets expunged from her record she still has to tell schools that she had something on her record.

Asked on 6/16/12, 5:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Loeb Law Offices of Thomas M. Loeb
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your mother is misinformed. If the conviction were expunged it could not be used against her.

Get the expungement.

-Tom

Read more
Answered on 6/16/12, 7:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now